Illustrator -v- Illustration

Illustrator is the industry standard software for producing technical drawings and this information is used by the pattern cutters to produce the paper pattern.  Here are the Illustrator drawings for some of my last collection.  My inspiration was the Georgian era and I had to design for the Anthropologie customer.

 

Georgian-Anthropologie-Designs-6---9

 

Georgian-Anthropologie-Designs-1-5

Georgian-Anthropologie-Designs-10-14

 

Georgian-Anthropologie-Designs-21-25

The purpose of illustration is to give you the essence of the collection and does not have to be technically correct. There are many different styles of illustration and for this project I wanted to give my illustration an urban feel.

SAM_6183

I used an illustrator for inspiration (her name escapes me at the moment) who uses mixed media for her illustrations. The legs, arms and accessories were cut from a magazine photoshoot and then I drew and painted my collection to fit in with the model’s poses.

 

Leave a Reply

