If You Were Yarn

Knitting-Crochet-Blog-Week-6-Badge

Today is the start of the 6th Annual Knitting & Crochet Blog Week and it’s a great way to discover new knitting and crochet blogs so I though I’d join in this year.  I know it will be a challenge to keep up with the daily posts so close to my uni deadlines but I do love a challenge!

Today’s topic is “If You Were Yarn”.

Assorted Yarn

I started off by gathering together all some of my different yarns.  They didn’t all fit in the basket I was using (and I don’t really want to admit to myself how much yarn I have) so I went with this selection.  They range from some gold metallic No 12 crochet cotton for which you need a 1.25mm hook – and no I’ve never used it – through different weights of cotton, beautiful wools and wool blended with silk and mohair, alpaca, bamboo and even old fashioned chenille. There are also some staple acrylics, plain and variegated; a reel of Devon twine from Devon sheep, sheared, spun and dyed just a few miles from my home, and, at the opposite end of the air miles spectrum, a ball of recycled sari fabric, stripped and spun into yarn under a Fair Trade project in India. Oh and some over-the-top, glittery, fluffy red stuff.

Quite a lot of yarn.  All oddments either left over from projects, bought to make samples for uni projects or picked up at charity shops/car boots because – just because.

But which one am I?  Do you know what, I think I’m a bit of all of them.

LIke most people I have different sides for different occasions. I am a Mum, a Nanny, a Partner, a Daughter, a Friend, a Student, a Dog Owner, a Cat Owner, a Car Driver, a Bus User, a Gardener, a Cook, a Housewife, a Creative and a Night Owl.  I’m sure if I gave it some more thought I’d think of some others too.  I am a little bit off all of those but that’s what makes me, me.

I don’t want to chose, I want to be them all.

What do you want to be?

Take a look at what other bloggers have chosen by typing 6KCBWDAY1 into your search engine.

7 thoughts on “If You Were Yarn

Leave a Reply

