Festival Fun Blanket is Finally Finished

Wow this blanket has been a pain labour of love.

The cat woke me up at a ridiculously early hour this morning for her breakfast. Anyone who knows me knows I don’t do mornings very well but as I crawled back into bed I realised that for the first time in a week it wasn’t raining and that was enough to get me out of bed and into the conservatory. Sunshine is such a rarity this summer that I didn’t want to waste a minute of it.

I was happily bobbling away when I glanced down and saw this!!

IMG_3608There wasn’t going to be enough blue to finish the cute bobble border. It should be renamed the bobble gobble border because it eats yarn. Aaaaaahhh. I had a teenage moment which went along the lines of:

“WHAT THE?????

I haven’t got enough yarn.

Now I’m going to have to have a shower,

and get dressed,

and brush my hair,

and get in the car

and drive to the wool shop to buy another ball

Noooooooo”

And then from the depths of my brain came a little whisper “Look in the Extra Balls Box.” I don’t know if it’s just me but in addition to my Baskets of Balls I have an Extra Balls Box. In there are balls bought because I was sure I didn’t have exactly that shade in my Baskets of Balls but when I brought it home, lo and behold, there was an identical ball in the baskets. And I can’t have duplicates in the Baskets of Balls. That’s just wrong. And balls bought for projects that weren’t needed. And balls bought to replace balls that had run out but I bought the wrong colour. Those sort of balls.

So in the split second after I heard that whisper I knew there was another blue ball in the Extra Balls Box that I had bought for the Baby Ripple Blanket and didn’t need. Hurrah. Panic over. Back to bobbling.

And so, finally, it is finished.

Festival Fun Blanket by Lisa Robins at lrobins1@wordpress.com

Festival Fun Blanket by Lisa Robins at lrobins1@wordpress.com

It’s made up of these sections:

Treble Crochet Stripes

Treble Crochet Stripes

Nice and easy, two rows of treble crochet (UK terms) in each colour

Traditional Granny Square

Traditional Granny Squares

Got to have some traditional Granny Squares in a blanket.

12 Stitch Ripple

12 Stitch Ripple

This is my go-to ripple, explained here.

Square Spiral

Square Spiral

Not sure where I first saw this pattern but YouTube has several excellent tutorials.

Granny Stripe

Granny Stripe

Nice and fast treble crochet Granny Stripe.

Spoke Granny

Spoke Granny

Totally made up this name! Start with a magic circle (or ch4 circle), make 1tr, 1ch, 12 times into mc and join with ss. Next row, 2tr into ch sp, 1 ch, 12 times and join with ss. Next row 3tr into each ch sp, 1 ch, 12 times, join with ss. Next row 4tr into each ch sp, 1 ch, 12 times, join with ss. Fifth row squares it off with 3tr, 2ch, 3tr into ch sp to form a corner, 3 tr into ch sp, 1 ch, twice to next corner and rep to form the square. Continue as traditional Granny Square.

Wavy Stripe

Wavy Stripe

This one I made up as I went along. Each colour is made up of 2 rows.

First row, 4dc, 2hdc, 4tr, 2hdc to end of row.
Second row, as above
Third row in new colour, 4tr, 2hdc, 4dc, 2hdc to end of row.
Four row, as third row

Repeat these 4 rows changing colour every second row.

And then the borders. For a blanket with so many different elements a good strong border was essential. I started, as I often do with a row of double crochet all the way round. This gives a good base to work from and evens out any wiggly bits. I did this in mid-grey so it blends in with all the different colours.

The second row is half double crochets which starts to give the border some depth while still keeping a tight structure.

Because I’m lazy I then did 3 rows of Granny stripes because they are quick and give the border width.

Then to stop the border getting too open I crocheted two rows of trebles.

Finally the cute bobble border, I wanted something different but it had to be chunky and substantial to fit in with the blanket. They aren’t actually bobbles, more like two halves of a shell make up of two cluster stitches one on top of the other. I will do a tutorial but this dark yarn is very hard to see in photographs so I’ll use a lighter colour and also show some different ways you can use the bobbles.

IMG_3617

The blanket is now off to the washing machine. You can see from some of the close up pictures that I managed to crochet quite a lot of Phoebe fur into it. I’ve never had a shedding dog before and am never going to have another. Her fur gets everywhere!

This blanket is destined for many years’ use at festivals. It’s made of good quality acrylic so will survive being stuffed into backpacks, hurled into tents and wrapped around Bethany and/or random strangers. I know it will wash and dry well and cope with living in the loft in a plastic bag each winter.

Not exactly an heirloom blanket but that was never my intention. It’s fun all the way with this one.

What do you think? Are all the colours a feast for your eyes or do they make you reach for your sunglasses?

Leave a Reply

